September 24, 2021

Awards Luncheon

The TCCWB met in person for the first time since the pandemic in Austin on Thursday & Friday 9/16 & 9/17/21.
Besides regular business, meeting highlights included presentations from Katie Olse, CEO Texas Alliance of Child & Family Services, Elizabeth Mueller, Northern Region Manager, Unregulated Child Care Operations, Texas Health & Hunan Services, & Dr. Robbie Walters Robichau, CAPSTONE Project, Texas A&M.

On Friday, the annual TCCWB Awards Luncheon was held for the statewide awards for this year. Recipients were honored in person at the luncheon with plaques given. Besides the plaques, the foster male & female youth of the year were each given a monetary gift to assist with daily living.
The luncheon was well attended with representation from throughout the state. This year’s honorees are the following:
Male Outstanding Youth of the Year – Javorrie Harris, Region 6
Female Outstanding Youth of the Year – Nishimwe Emeline – Region 7
Foster Parents of the Year – Ryan & Julie Averitt – Region 2
Outstanding CPS Leader – Shawn Vandygriff – Region 1
Outstanding Community Resource- Benny Taylor – Region 1
Volunteer of the Year – Sam Scroggins – Region 4.

See link for photos from Luncheon.